2015 Playoffs: Division Round

I’ve picked the Packers for the upset this week.

I’ve laid out my thinking elsewhere.  We got blown out against this team in week 16, but that game looked far worse than it really was.  We’ve got some key players back this week.

The Packers were in the game last time until they lost Bulaga at RT.  That’s when the wheels came off.  However even before that, they were Starting with Don Barclay at LT.  That’s a backup G on an island, protecting Aaron Rodgers’ blind side.

Then you factor in the turnovers.  Mike Daniels made a gutty INT in the redzone, but Aaron Rodgers casually lofted the ball right back to the Cardinals, which was at least a 10 point swing.  Then after the half, Starks coughed up the ball on the first play.  It was shortly after that that we lost Bulaga, causing two backup Gs to be inserted at the T positions.  That’s when the wheels really came off.

The biggest factor in this game though, is the re-emergence of Aaron Rodgers.  He wasn’t elite last week, but it was obvious that he was “trying hard” again.  I personally felt that he had been tanking this offense.  Many disagreed with me, but it was obvious that he wasn’t right, whatever was going on.  He seems to have turned the corner on that.

I’m not saying the Packers are going to win tonight.  I did pick them.  But what my analysis is saying is that, they have a chance.  The Packers can hang with this Cardinals team, despite what many people might think.

Losing Davante Adams last week will hurt this week, especially after having already lost Jordy Nelson and the explosive rookie Ty Montgomery.  However I think Abbrederis, who will step up into the #3 WR position, can get it done.

Control time of possession, establish the run, protect the football.  The D should get some turnovers.  Frankly I’m more worried about the offense.  Mike will pull something daring on ST today.  Janis has the ability to break a KO too.  Just move the chains, Aaron!

Aaron said the pressure this week is on the Cardinals, and I agree.  They’re favored, and it’s at their house.  Nobody expects the Packers to win.  They should be able to just go out there and play.

 

 

About thehatefulnerd

I am a bad person inside.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment